Kim Hyun Joong… [article] STRONG HOLD

By: LazerKim          Before I lost my internet connection in 1st of August the news I was about to write was the partnership KeyEast signed with Star Lake, which is a reputable international agent base in China as world’s largest market. The joint venture is aiming to strengthen and expand the avenues in promoting KeyEast artists particularly Kim Hyun Joong, Kim Soo Hyun and Joo Ji Hoon. This is to team up and to target integrated marketing business of entertainment content.

I wrote an article Artist Agent that talks about the responsibilities of an agent to their managing artist. Other than those responsibilities the agent plays a big role in promoting their artist. May I emphasize again that in showbiz there’s no such thing as “I owe you” kinda thing. Both the agent and their managing artist should benefit from each other. And that’s business reality. Although we can not deny the fact that there are existing agents particularly in Korea who takes advantage of their artist in terms of revenues and work load. This is very rampant and it takes another government agent to protect the artists.

In my previous articles I have mentioned that no matter how good an artist is, without the proper promotion, advertising, information dissemination of the artist’s projects, his popularity may tend to collapse. At the same time if an artist can not be given projects to work on, is another factor that may cause his career may suffer. Of course it depends on artist’s ability to pull people towards him. The agent has the responsibility to provide projects for their artists. The agent is the middle man, the agent are the guarantors both to their artist and the principal sponsor of the particular project.

It was said that when Hyun Joong moved in to KeyEast, his career even blooms to a certain height beyond expectation. I wasn’t around yet during the time Hyun Joong was still under DSP so I do not know how he was being managed. All I know is that he was over loaded with work when Hyun Joong did BOF. There’s a difference in managing a solo performer and a group performer. For obvious reason it is easier to manage a soloist since the support focus to only one performer and I would say there is more freedom of choice in terms of music on the part of the artist.

I watched many video clips of Hyun Joong and his members SS501, with all fairness I would say talent wise the lead vocalists Young Seng and Kim Hyung Jun are really good and I was impressed. In any group of singers it’s always been the lead vocalist who shines within the group, for obvious reasons they are usually the best among the rest of the members. This thought goes for almost all the groups. This was my first impression and my own opinion. But I was wrong with my impression. I came to realize it’s not only the artist’s talent that matters to qualify being in the stardom.

When the group separated doing their solo activities, for me, was the only time I’ve seen Hyun Joong’s true color. The other members though were doing just great in their activities with album and drama projects. I’m not saying Hyun Joong was not given enough chance to show his craft when he was still with SS501, it’s just that, it’s different to be performing solo than with the group. In fact I had high expectation with the other members because their voice quality is really very good.

But it can not be denied Hyun Joong was quite fast in moving forward. He was able to show what he got, KeyEast gave him the liberty to create, to boost what Hyun Joong has been keeping to himself. The stock knowledge and ideas that has been in his mind finally has the chance to be shown to the world what he got. Evidently with both effort of Hyun Joong and the company KE resulted in an overwhelming success that brought to global heights to the name Kim Hyun Joong. It’s like Hyun Joong the doer and KeyEat the financier that both benefit from each other’s effort.

On the other hand, the company chooses reputable sponsors and event organizers to boost up Hyun Joong projects, specially in conducting advertising schemes, and promoting to keep the general public’s awareness, well-informed pertaining to the existence of the project. In boosting an artist popularity, it takes an amount of exposure, right timing and finally public acceptability. Many producers and businessmen are on their lookout too in terms of star popularity in sponsoring concerts and different events that may carry the name of the sponsoring company. The showbiz and the commercial businesses co-relates with one another, this is another business reality.

Stars who has the power to gather a crowd, who has the ability to call for immediate attention are the target in conducting advertising schemes. Let us not forget that Hyun Joong is also a commercial model and a product endorser of various companies. Showbiz stars are usually in demand that many producers and businessmen sought after to represent their company and Hyun Joong is one of the hottest Kpop star currently in demand. Therefore if your idol is popular, it is very likely that you see them around you in posters and billboards.

May I mention something just pop out in my mind, I remember in one interview right after he performed, he was saying, “I have to do my best and give all I got for my fans and I also want the staffs to take pride because they too worked hard.” He was pertaining to KeyEast staffs who are working with him behind the scene. I was moved by such gesture because Hyun Joong recognizes the effort of those who work with him. He represents both KE and the sponsoring company and he proved he’s worthy of that trust and confidence given to him, by his hard work that resulted to a chain of success.

One may say Hyun Joong is just an average singer, for now, he may not the best actor as others think, as of now, I will not blind you with what others think to be his limitations but I will not also blind you with the reality that Hyun Joong is a unique total performer. In being a star it is not only the artist talent that matters, but the “IT” factor or a certain stage appeal that not all artist possess. His ability to pull his audience towards him, the power to capture and stand out above the rest of the artists, this are the qualities Hyun Joong has on stage. He has the power to take control of a huge audience by himself.

Hyun Joong nurtures the gained attention he already has by creating a connection with these people. He keeps them interested in him by boosting his ability to innovate bringing something new to every exposure he has. He keeps a consistent interaction that deepens the connection between himself and his fans. Others would say, for as long Hyun Joong keeps his feet firmly on the ground, he’ll be able to keep himself on top of the stardom. I believe Hyun Joong knows how to handle his popularity which he takes it by heart. This was stated by one Japanese producer and he said Hyun Joong has the ability to rise even higher, with his professionalism and natural modesty.

I’m sure we have read a lot of stories about other stars who dropped down from the heights of stardom. If other stars can relax for having such fame, it’s the other way around for Hyun Joong. The more he gets popular the more he work hard, the more he gives his best shot at work. I remember, in one of his video interview, he was asked “wouldn’t you consider having a relationship while in the peak of your career just like the other stars?” Hyun Joong stated, “I’m not as good as them to handle both relationship and career at the same time. There are many more that’s lacking in me that I want to improve and I want to focus on those areas to be worthy of being called a star”.

Hyun Joong keeps a strong hold on his desire to be worthy of being a star, with his strong determination and dedication to achieve the demands he’s been gaining from home and around the world. By remaining focus to what he wanted out of his career, he goes out of his way in attaining it. He gives importance to the people he works with, treating them with equal respect as he recognize and acknowledge the team work within his work place he’s in. Many people behind the scene depend on him that whatever success he gains is also their success, ever since he turned soloist the achievements he has been gaining is just overwhelmingly beyond anyone’s expectation. He never fails them and he never fails his fans in sharing what he got.

There may be many artist better than him, but I just couldn’t bring myself to even look them up or maybe they have not caught my attention as yet, but never have I been against other artists. I just feel contented and happy with Hyun Joong as my idol. I’m a busy person with obligations and responsibilities within my workplace and the only remaining time that I have  before ending the day is spending that quality time with Hyun Joong in searching for update and writing about him.

My family and closest friends are at the other side of the world, we communicate through emails and webcam. I interact with the Aliens where I find comfort being my friends and family at the other world. I just feel complete to where I am. Hyun Joong taught me all about these things that I failed to see before.

Hyun Joong keeps a strong hold over his fans as it keeps growing every time. In one talk show he said, “I can not gain love from people overnight, I have to work hard to be able to gain that love.” Hyun Joong receives a lot of love from almost everywhere, and nurture that love to be able to let them stay with him.

It’s a clear chain reaction, from Hyun Joong as a star from his effort he gains his fans. As the number of fans grow, he also gained a number of producers and businessmen, and they are the ones to bridge the connection between Hyun Joong and his fans.  There may be a long way to go as Hyun Joong tries his best effort to develop, and as he is doing so, the longer his tail goes as his fans follow his every step to stardom.

Kim Hyun Joong keeps a Strong Hold to that love he receives from his fans as he sincerely gives back the same love by providing what they need from him as his fans.

                                                                                                LazerKim here writing

Photo credits as tagged, Ms.D, KHJean14 thanks!

14 thoughts on “Kim Hyun Joong… [article] STRONG HOLD

  1. honestly i’m really impress of youngseng voice specially on how he handle the highnotes but it was hyun joong sweet voice i fell in lovew/..

  2. Awww, you saved it! how sweet of you! ❤ I had a long reply to this yesterday but wordpress hates me and I lost everything I had tapped on my phone! .-. Yeah, u r right i dislike negative/malicidnugs things… but I actually wanted to say sth bitter on Artist by heart xd but when I re-clicked the link the next day it was full of jokes hahaha xd! so that's why I didn't write a comment! I think laughing about that was the best thing ever! xd I read wordpress hates you today lol i will wait patiently for ur next entry! :3

  3. Dear LK, of course this is a great article and finally you “cooled down” after the excitement of the last weekend (hope you are less sore after your fall…) and this is so nice written. Chapeu to KE always they gave KHJ the freedom to do exactly what he loves and look where that got him and more to come in the future it is their total gain here as his from all angles. HJ made the right choice in chosing them as agents, it just shows HJ is smart and had a good vision of the future and knows exactly what he wants, he will excell in all what he propose himself to do. Bravo! I am saying again in the SS501 days they didn’t gave KHJ the freedom to do what he really can do and you must agree with me that when he sings ballads his voice is heart melting. KHJ is in a much better place today, so for those who still harbour hopes for SS501 to reunite, forget about it kids, KHJ will not go back…. he is only going forward and that is a fact! have a nice day dear:)

    • Totally agree with you.
      Sure HJ can’t reach the successes today with SS501.
      Why must he back with the group?
      Can’t request him to give up his dreams for the group.

  4. Great Article LK! It is obvious you have worked in the business by your inside knowledge. I learned a lot from this post. I already knew the general elements of the business side, but you have filled in some blanks. I am so thankful Hyun Joong has good businessmen on his side. Otherwise, we would not be able to see him as often. I admit, I am probably going to purchase products from Face Shop because of Hyun Joong’s endorsement. I have been looking for some good skin care products, and I intend to try their chia line as I am a fanatatic about the health benefits of chia seeds. I eat them every day for breakfast!

    So, it is true that the companies benefit from the artist and the artist benefits from the exposure in their ad campaigns. The fact that Hyun Joong’s public image is so positive will keep him in demand for a long time to come. He is just so amazing, and people fall in love with him easily. It is his honesty and integrity that give him that image. Go Hyun Joong! I know you will make your global domination dream come true! Let me teach you English so you can conquer the Western World! LOL!

    Thanks, LIK!

    Angie

    • Hello Angie!! I’m telling you angie you’ll be his guardian angel in teaching him English! Well you may never know, admit it there are things that happen to our lives that we least expected and bound to no explanation or whatsoever and it just happen! right?
      Being a star artist is an all around career, it’s just not singing, dancing, acting, one has to have that power to pull people towards him. For me he’s the best artist, people still has the stereotype meaning of artist so he’s being called overrated. Here we go again!! Forget it!! Just my opinion!
      I so glad the other write up is no longer at the internet, I hope! That gives me a peace of mind! Thanks to you darna!!
      Well Ms. tutor, I wish for your wishes to come true sis, I admire your calmness and how you interpret negative views by seeing all sides, I learn from you too sis I’m happy to have met you here thanks!!
      Take care sis have a nice day see you around Godbless..

      • ^^ ❤ u, LK! I just ordered my faceshop skin care regimen… cleanser, toner, emulsion, moisturizer. I would have ordered bb cream, but forgot. I will have to order it next time I am blessed with some $. 😀 Hope you are feeling better!

  5. Hi li,

    First of all , this is a very nice article . I so enjoy every words you wrote. Thanks to bring us back a little bit of ss501’s time. I found we have quite similar opinion towards the group. I also enjoy the voice of YS and HJB very much. I think they have a great voice and they are good singers. However when SS501 were on stage the one who catched my eyes was HJ . My eyes kept following him or looked for him automatically. I was glued to HJ ‘s movement. HJ has something that draws people towords him. It’s like magic. It’s not just his face but the whole vibrasion that shines out from him. . I totally agree with you that HJ did own the stage whenever he performs.

    After seeing some still pictures of CC I feel this drama is going to be a new chapter of HJ’s career. I love to see dark side of him……beside ( even ) his dark side is also very charming Kekekeke.

    Finally , I think you’re right , life without Hyun Joong is boring. Thanks to have you LK.
    God bless.

  6. =) Well as you may know I’m an event/party planner and besides that I produce small gigs (1000 ppl) and work as media partner with some concert promoters here. Of course when someone gets successful is everyone’s effort that could make it, not only the star itself. Marketing/promotion is a VERY important thing. I like to discover indie bands and give them a chance that nobody wanted to give them before and see how they become popular. I know many ppl who are also gigs planners/producers and they have failed to stay alive because they couldn’t keep ppl amazed, they mostly didn’t know how to promote themselves nor the artists. Keyeast is really good at doing this but of course, when the artist you are promoting has good personality traits, such as being kind, polite, altruist as HJ does, those things win ppl’s hearts easily. I’m surprised to be the first person commenting on your article which you posted 5 hrs ago. It seems ppl like to comment more on controversial things. That doesn’t seem right to me. Negative things don’t attract me XD Next time, finish your article with -> ‘KHJ is ugly’ xd and let’s see how many comments you get LOL! .-. Enjoy the rest of the day, LK!

    • There you are!! LOL…. KHJ is ugly!!! Ahh good girl no wonder you were not around during the traffic mode at the controvertial article I had recently!! I honestly hope that will be the last! i can’t help it though only if there’s a need.
      I find your career interesting because I like planning and organizing too which I think I’m good at and pressured work. Hey you love challenge too I can see that now, it’s good you’re quite open in giving chances to other artists. As I was writing this article I was hoping you can drop by and share your knowledge cause I know this is your line of work. Then I read your comment about being a rocker just in time I wrote about Heat, I would like to borrow what you have written but I find it not good since it’s from other blog, but I learned something from you there. i even saved it!! Just to get an idea from a rocker for real.
      well have a nice day too, take care! See you around! God bless.. Thanks for sharing!

  7. =) Well as you may know I’m an event/party planner and besides that I produce small gigs (1000 ppl) and work as media partner with some concert promoters here. Of course when someone gets successful is everyone’s effort that could make it, not only the star itself. Marketing/promotion is a VERY important thing. I like to discover indie bands and give them a chance that nobody wanted to give them before and see how they become popular. I know many ppl who are also gigs planners/producers and they have failed to stay alive because they couldn’t keep ppl amazed, they mostly didn’t know how to promote themselves. Keyeast is really good at doing this but of course, when the artist you are promoting has good personality traits, such as being kind, polite, altruist those things win ppl’s hearts easily. I’m surprised to be the first person commenting on your article which you posted 5 hrs ago. It seems ppl like to comment more on the controversial things. That doesn’t seem right to me. Negative things don’t attract me XD Next time, finish your article with -> ‘KHJ is ugly’ xd and let’s see how many comments you get LOL! .-. Enjoy the rest of the day, LK!

  8. Pingback: Kim Hyun Joong… [article] STRONG HOLD | LazerKim

Leave a Reply

